Playbooks!

IMG_5007

Kindergarten is the most exciting period in a learner’s life. Why? Almost everything is new. When you feel there’s always something new to learn, you get excited and you would always want for more.

This is why I’m making use of this opportunity to expose my son to learning through play. It isn’t easy. I am not the one to read parenting books (it stresses me because my set-up isn’t typical). I am trying to follow his current interests and his wants and step up a bit when he learns the basics.

I think we already mastered the basics of alphabets and numbers.  He’s quick to add and subtract 1 digit numbers. He can read variety of simple words and attempts to read more complicated ones.  We do have a problem with his sentence construction in English because our mother tongue at home is Filipino (and we don’t really watch much T.V /cartoons at home). I’m not pressuring him to learn just yet. He is trying to converse in English and we do correct him during our conversations. Good thing he doesn’t feel bad about it.

I am always on the look out for locally published books  specially because the first books he was able read on his own were both Tagalog .

Bahay Kubo One of the most famous Filipino folk song, BAHAY KUBO, beautifully illustrated by Hermes Alegre, published by Tahanan Books. He initially *pretended* to know how to read but really, he is already familiar with the song so the reading part came naturally.

10 Children’s Storybooks that Teach Filipino Culture - Pinoy Parenting| SmartParenting.com.ph

AY NAKU! Story by Reni Roxas, illustrated by Serj Bumatay III, published by Tahanan Books. We had fun time reading this back then because he can relate with Botbot! A story with only 65 Filipino words yet was able to tell something about a child’s funny way and how a Filipino family lovingly deals with it. I find this book a real winner.

Anyway, after that almost 1 week of not being able to spend quality time with him (post grad and late late late endorsements!!!), I dropped by our community mall to buy ink… but of course, that also means a quick trip to the bookstore. 

I got to the Kindergarten books fell in love with the collection of Jepoy Dyip.  Are you familiar with the cardboard toys at the back of chocolate drinks (or cereals?) or probably you are more familiar with paper dolls? This collection has a more “gender neutral” paper toys to create and play with.

When I showed him his new books, he immediately g0t 2 pairs of scissors. You know what happens next. I finished creating the jeepney for him while he, at the stage of pushing his independence, started cutting the police car (… and then cut some more… until… err… he willingly accepted that I help him already).  Our agreement is that we open one book  and read the story together first (I’ll read in Filipino while he’ll read the English translation) before we proceed to the next books.  He’s really excited about this one as well because when I check on him while I am at work, he kept on telling my how he and my brother is working on the paper toys!  (Source: http://jmtejido.blogspot.com/)

Leave a Reply

